Celebrate the Return!

Celebrating the Past, Embracing the Future

40th Annual Gala

Thank you for supporting Project RETURN!

You can view the 2020 Celebrate the Return Virtual Gala below.

Suggested Donation

The suggested donation for a ticket is $50, but any amount is greatly appreciated.
If you are not in a position to support us financially at this time, PLEASE attend
as our guest. We are excited to share our stories with you.

Event Schedule

Eugene Nelson, our emcee and a Project RETURN staff member, welcomes everyone and introduces the schedule for the night.

Board President and former Project RETURN client Rodney Evans shares his story.

Pastor Joe Ellwanger, Founding Board Member, provides a brief history of the agency.

Executive Director Wendel Hruska introduces 3 staff members who describe some of our programs: Andre Brown, Clem Richardson, and Teri Woodley.

Our emcee Eugene speaks about a program he directs.

Caliph Muab-El, a key to our current success.

Ray Mendoza, recipient of this year’s Elijah O’Neal Award.

Ventae Parrow, redemption and success.

Eugene brings the evening to a close.

The evening wraps up with a rap from our very own Andre Brown, stage name: Apollian.

Featured Speakers and Stories

Tune in on October 27th to hear more from our distinguished guests.

Joe Ellwanger
Founding Board Member

Terri Woodley
Project RETURN Staff Member

Ventae Parrow
Project RETURN Client


Eugene Nelson
Staff Member
This Evening’s Emcee


Rodney Evans
President of Board
Pictured here with Milwaukee
Mayor Tom Barrett


Pastor Joe Ellwanger
Founder and Board member


Wendel Hruska
Executive Director


Andre Brown
Case Worker Staff


Clem Richardson
​AODA Counselor


Teri Woodley
Office Manager Staff


Caliph Muab EL
Community Partner via Breaking Barriers and All of Us or None

Ray Mendoza 2

Ray Mendoza​
Office of Violence Prevention’s 414 Life Team


Ventae Parrow
Client in Circles of Support


Brian Osei
Project RETURN
Community Organizer


Amanda Smit
Project RETURN
Program Coordinator

Project RETURN Board Members

Charles Hampton

Rodney Evans

Rev. Joseph Ellwanger

Dr. Ed de St. Aubin

Chris Avallone

Maggie Kuhn

Dr. Tom LaBel

Maggie Kuhn

Monte Mabra

Rob Schreiber

William Harrell

Rev. Mark Thompson

Judi Ruppel

Judge Patricia Gorence

Mark Rice


Giving Online

To give online with your credit card or your personal PayPal account, please click on the secure “Donate” link below.

Mailing a Check

Please make your check payable to: Project RETURN.

Mail your check to our office:
Project RETURN, 2821 Vel R Phillips Ave, Suite 223, Milwaukee, WI 53212

Thank You To Our Event Sponsors

Thank You To Our Foundation Sponsors


Celebrate the RETURN | Project RETURN’s 40th Anniversary Virtual Gala Tuesday, Oct. 27th at 6:30 p.m.

How Milwaukee’s Project Return Helps Formerly Incarcerated People Return To Their Communities

Project RETURN Celebrates 40 Years!